The Inauguration of Laurie A. Leshin

Laurie Leshin

The Inauguration of Laurie A. Leshin 16th President of Worcester Polytechnic Institute November 7th and 8th, 2104


Inspired to Innovate: A Future-Focused Conversation

Craig Barrett
Retired Chairman and CEO, Intel Corporation
Chair, Change the Equation

Dr. Craig Barrett is a leading advocate for improving education in the U.S. and around the world. He is also a vocal spokesman for the value technology can provide in raising social and economic standards globally. In 2009, he stepped down as Chairman of the Board of Intel Corporation, a post he held from May 2005 to May 2009.

Craig Barrett was born in San Francisco, California. He attended Stanford University in Palo Alto, California from 1957 to 1964, receiving Bachelor of Science, Master of Science and Ph.D. degrees in Materials Science. After graduation, he joined the faculty of Stanford University in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and remained through 1974, rising to the rank of Associate Professor. Dr. Barrett was a Fulbright Fellow at Danish Technical University in Denmark in 1972 and a NATO Postdoctoral Fellow at the National Physical Laboratory in England from 1964 to 1965. He is the author of over 40 technical papers dealing with the influence of microstructure on the properties of materials, and a textbook on materials science, Principles of Engineering Materials.

Dr. Barrett joined Intel Corporation in 1974 and held positions of vice president, senior vice president and executive vice president from 1984 to 1990. In 1992, he was elected to Intel Corporation’s Board of Directors and was promoted to chief operating officer in 1993. Dr. Barrett became Intel’s fourth president in 1997, chief executive officer in 1998 and chairman of the Board in 2005.

Dr. Barrett previously served as Chairman of the United Nations Global Alliance for Information and Communication Technologies and Development, which works to bring computers and other technology to developing parts of the world. He chairs Change The Equation, a national education science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) coalition, Achieve, Inc., National Forest Foundation and Dossia, co-chairs the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Advisory Board, and vice chairs Science Foundation Arizona. Dr. Barrett is chairman of the Governor’s Arizona Ready Education Council, president and chairman of BASIS Schools, Inc., and a member of the Board of Directors of K12 Inc., Society for Science and the Public, Arizona Commerce Authority Board, Tallwave, and Grameen Intel Social Business. He is International co-chairman of the Russian Federation’s Skolkovo Foundation Council and serves on the Council for Foreign Relations Task Force on U.S. Education Reform and National Security, the advisory boards of the Peter G. Peterson Foundation, Geothermic Solution, Team4Tech, Montana Family Foundation, the faculty of Thunderbird School of Global Management, and is Chairman of the Irish Technology Leadership Group. Dr. Barrett has been an appointee of the President’s Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations and the American Health Information Community. He has co-chaired the Business Coalition for Student Achievement and the National Innovation Initiative Leadership Council, and has served as a member of the Board of Trustees for the U.S. Council for International Business, the Clinton Global Initiative Education Advisory Board, and numerous other boards, policy and government panels and committees. Dr. Barrett has been a member of the National Governors’ Association Task Force on Innovation America, the National Infrastructure Advisory Council, the Committee on Scientific Communication and National Security, the U.S.-Brazil CEO Forum, past chair of the National Academy of Engineering, and formerly served on the Board of Directors of the U.S. Semiconductor Industry Association, the National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering, and TechNet.

craig-barrettFriday, November 7th, 3 p.m.
Alden Memorial
Open Seating

Registration is required

See Also:

  • Wanda Austin
    President and CEO, The Aerospace Corporation
  • Mariko Silver
    President, Bennington College
  • Subra Suresh
    President, Carnegie Mellon University
    Former Director of the National Science Foundation